San Jose Vehicular Manslaughter Attorneys
In the state of California, vehicular manslaughter charges can arise if a driver is accused of causing an accident involving a vehicle that leads to another person’s death. Typically associated with drunk driving, vehicular manslaughter charges are extremely serious and can, understandably, cause anyone facing them to feel frightened, stressed, and uncertain of what to do.
Unfortunately, as our team at the Law Office of Daniel Jensen, P.C., is well aware, many people in San Jose who are facing a charge of vehicular manslaughter do not know what their defense options are or what the best steps to take are. As the penalties associated with a vehicular manslaughter conviction can be quite severe, not having a strong defense when fighting this charge can be devastating. Fortunately, with the help of a skilled defense attorney, anyone fighting a vehicular manslaughter charge can build a strong defense and possibly get their charge reduced or dismissed.
Potential Penalties for Vehicular Manslaughter Conviction
There are several possible penalties that can accompany a conviction of vehicular manslaughter in California. Of course, the penalties can be harsher if a person has prior convictions, is intoxicated while driving, or if there are multiple deaths involved. However, some of the penalties a person convicted of vehicular manslaughter might expect to face include the following:
- Misdemeanor: up to 1 year in jail
- Felony, intoxication only: up to 4 years in jail
- Felony, intoxication and gross negligence: up to 10 years in jail
- License suspension
With the guidance of a defense lawyer, you may not have to face these and other penalties of a vehicular manslaughter conviction.
Contact a Vehicular Manslaughter Lawyer in Santa Clara
If you are a San Jose driver facing charges of vehicular manslaughter, then you deserve someone on your side who is dedicated to protecting your rights and freedoms. At the Law Office of Daniel Jensen, P.C., we fight for people who are facing such charges, working to possibly get their charges reduced or dropped. Call (408) 296-4100 to learn more about how we can help you.