Domestic Battery Charges
Domestic battery, sometimes called spousal battery, is a serious charge in California that could have lasting legal consequences for a person if he or she is convicted. Domestic battery can generally be defined as any kind of battery offense that occurs between “intimate partners,” which can refer to unmarried, married, gay, straight, divorced, or dating couples. Battery consists of the use of physical force to cause injury, which is different than assault, which requires only the threat of physical violence to be considered a crime.
Facing a charge of domestic battery can be daunting. However, our attorneys believe everyone has the right to a strong defense and do all we can to provide that for those facing such charges. Thus, if you are facing domestic battery charges in California, contact an experienced San Jose criminal defense lawyer from the Law Office of Daniel Jensen, P.C., today by calling (408) 296-4100.
A conviction of domestic battery can have various consequences, depending on the particular circumstances of a case. If battery is charged as a misdemeanor, penalties may include:
- $2,000 fine
- Maximum of one year in jail or prison
- Community service hours
- Personal counseling for up to 1 year
If, however, a conviction of battery is a felony case, the penalties can be more severe and may include:
- Up to 3 years in jail or prison
- Extended monetary fines
- “No contact” court order
Regardless of the charge you are facing, our attorneys have the experience and knowledge necessary to provide you with an aggressive defense that may help lessen or dismiss some or all of these penalties.